The Region Fes Meknes


The region of Fez-Meknes is one of the twelve new regions of Morocco instituted by the territorial division of 2015.

It includes two prefectures (Fez and Meknes) and seven provinces (Sefrou, Boulemane, Moulay Yacoub, Ifrane, El hajeb, Taza and Taounate).

 

Climate and relief

The region of Fez-Meknes is subject to 3 types of climate:

  • A continental climate in the northern part, very hot and very dry in summer and cold and wet in winter. The average rainfall is 500 mm and the winds are dry and cold or cold and wet in winter and hot in summer (chergui).
     

  • A cold and humid climate in a mountainous area, very cold and very snowy in winter and temperate in summer. The average rainfall exceeds 700 mm with hailstorms and floods following showers.
     

  • A semi-arid climate in the high hills of Boulemane, where average rainfall does not exceed 250 mm. Winters are very cold and snowy, with almost daily frosts and a significant number of days without thaw.

The relief of the region consists mainly of the hills at the foot of the Rif in the northern zone, the mountains of the Middle Atlas, the high hills of Missour and the plains of Saïss.

Tourism

Tourism in the region is essentially a cultural tourism due to the historical, architectural heritage of international renown. Thanks to the presence of several mineral springs and spas, especially those of Moulay Yaâcoub and Sidi Harazem, the destination is considered as a destination of choice for lovers of rest and cure tourism. Mountain tourism, which is an important part of the region, is also important because of the existence of important and diversified assets: natural diversity, the multiplicity of sites, the presence of springs, lakes, forests and forests. waterfalls.

La Région Fès Meknès


La Région de Fès-Meknès  est une des douze nouvelles régions du Maroc  instituées par le découpage territorial de 2015.

Elle comprend deux préfectures (Fès et Meknès) et sept provinces (Séfrou, Boulemane, Moulay Yacoub, Ifrane, El hajeb, Taza et Taounate).

 

Climat et relief

La région de Fès-Meknès est soumise à 3 types de climats :

  • Un climat continental dans la partie nord, très chaud et très sec en été et froid et humide en hiver. La moyenne des précipitations y est de 500 mm et les vents y sont secs et froids ou bien froids et humides en hiver et chauds en été (chergui).
  • Un climat froid et humide en zone montagneuse, très froid et très neigeux en hiver et tempéré en été. La moyenne des précipitations dépasse les 700 mm avec des chutes de grêles et des inondations suite aux averses.
  • Un climat semi-aride dans les hautes collines de Boulemane, où la moyenne des précipitations n’excède pas le cap des 250 mm. Les hivers y sont très froids et neigeux, avec des gelées quasi-quotidienne et un nombre non négligeable de jours sans dégel.

Le relief de la région est constitué essentiellement des collines au pied du Rif dans la zone du Nord, des montagnes du Moyen Atlas, des hautes collines du Missour et des plaines de Saïss.

Tourisme

Le tourisme dans la région est essentiellement un tourisme culturel dû au patrimoine historique, architectural de renommée internationale. Grâce à la présence de plusieurs sources minérales et stations thermales, notamment celles de Moulay Yaâcoub et Sidi Harazem, la destination est considérée comme une destination de choix pour les amateurs du tourisme de repos et de cure. Ajoutons également le tourisme de montagne qui occupe une place importante dans la région, et ce grâce à l’existence d’atouts importants et diversifiés particulièrement: la diversité naturelle, la multiplicité des sites, la présence des sources, des lacs, des forêts et des cascades.